BLOG
INFAMOUS – LONDON REVIEWS

Posted in Derren Brown News

Posted by Derren Brown News June 29, 2013 at 6:35 pm

Derren Brown: Infamous is at the Palace Theatre, Shaftesbury Avenue, from June 24 to August 17

Thursday was the official press night for DERREN BROWN: INFAMOUS and the reviews are now in!

(click through on the links to read the full review)

Andrew Tomlins, for West End Frame, writes:
“I am still shaking my head in disbelief at what I witnessed.” – ★★★★★

Kate Stanbury, writing for OfficialLondonTheatre.co.uk, reflects:
“His talent for storytelling and inherent sense of humour adds an element of stand-up comedy to the production, making the performer compelling to watch even when he isn’t warping logic beyond recognition.”

Sarah Bull, of The Daily Mail, observes:
“It is on the stage that he really comes alive – relishing the chance to stun and baffle his audience.” – ★★★★★

Mark Shenton, for The Stage, writes that the show is:
“As bold and brave as it is constantly unnerving”

Comparing Derren with the stand-up comedian Daniel Kitson, Dominic Cavendish, for The Telegraph, writes: -
“There’s a depth of intelligence in what they get up to on stage – a relish for the poetical and the philosophical too – that easily stands comparison with the finest drama.” – ★★★★★

Nadia Mendoza, for the Daily Star, writes:
“Derren’s exquisite skill is nothing shy of sheer genius.”

Richard Voyce, for PlaysToSee.com, comments:
“The fact that he even has the stamina, let alone the sheer talent, to make us believe that he is doing what he is doing night after night is a feat in itself.” – ★★★★★

Abby Moss, writing for Planet Ivy, writes:
“Go see Derren Brown if you like being so confused that you resort to violence, like an angry bear trying to get into a coolbox.”

Peter Brown (no relation), writing for londontheatre.co.uk, describes Derren:
“This is a showman of the very first order – make no mistake of that.” – ★★★★

Fiona Mountford, for the Evening Standard, announces:
“The master mentalist is back in the West End and he’s here to mess with our heads.”

Elly Perry, writing for The Upcoming, notes:
“Brown is a very clever man and slightly bonkers.” – ★★★★

Carole Gordon, writing for What’s On Stage, reminds us:
“Just be grateful that the likable Brown is using his powers for entertainment and enlightenment, and he’s not sitting in a remote mountain lair, stroking a white cat and plotting global domination.”




The multi-award winning acknowledged master of psychological illusion returns to the West End stage with his new one-man show DERREN BROWN: INFAMOUS, following a sell-out national tour.

The dark manipulator brings his unique brand of magic and mind control to the Palace Theatre, Shaftesbury Avenue, for a limited season from June 24 to August 17. INFAMOUS is the sixth in Derren’s historic series of live shows, which have seen by over one million people.

Tickets are on sale now from 08448 740789 and from http://derrenbrown.co.uk/on-stage/

COMMENTS
June 29, 2013 at 7:00 pm
Robin101962 says:

Huge congrats DB, looks like another award in the bag! Much love X


June 29, 2013 at 7:21 pm
Heidi Martins says:

If you don’t read any other review please read the one by Abby Moss above. It is hilarious. One of the best reviews I’ve seen for anyone anywhere :)


June 29, 2013 at 7:36 pm
James culshaw says:

Congrats on the great reviews ! and to anyone who hasn’t seen the show yet …Go and see infamous its a brilliant !!!


June 29, 2013 at 7:41 pm
ClaireyBell says:

Well deserving of the praise, you and your team should be very proud! Enjoy the London run xxx


June 29, 2013 at 7:43 pm
Ashley Wicks says:

I’m going for my birthday on the 15th July. I can’t wait.


June 29, 2013 at 7:43 pm
rey says:

will this show come out on dvd’s someday?


June 29, 2013 at 7:57 pm
Bryony Higgins says:

I watched you on Thursday night. I don’t think any human could ever understand how you do it, because with your power, you can not be human yourself! Once again an astounding performance or mind blowing trickery, you never fail to amaze you. Dickbrains unite.


June 29, 2013 at 7:57 pm
Roz says:

luv, hugs & great big snogs fer ya! :)


June 29, 2013 at 8:42 pm
Clearoutqueen33 says:

Bizarrely I had never seen Derren Brown before Friday 28th June show. OMG; was an amazing talented man. His performance on stage was awesome even before he had started with the tricks. Will definitely be booking to re-see


June 29, 2013 at 9:03 pm
john fitchett says:

saw db in hull for the second time and he still amazes me.a true master and showman.


June 29, 2013 at 10:17 pm
Marshall Waller says:

Congratulations on your success once again. I would request if you could do an Australian tour.


June 29, 2013 at 10:18 pm
Marshall Waller says:

Congratulations on your success once again. I would request if you could do an Australian tour.


June 29, 2013 at 11:10 pm
Robert Evans says:

It’s a must-see event! I got lucky enough to get on stage and it has literally changed my life. Anyone who has seen it will know what I’m talking about ;P


June 30, 2013 at 2:34 am
Mark says:

Please come to Australia!


June 30, 2013 at 10:40 am
HiggsBoson says:

‘We are only limited by what we settle for’…… and you continue to push those limits – excellent intelligent work.


June 30, 2013 at 11:55 am
Alexandra says:

DERREN>>>, COME TO NEW ZEALAND>>>>>>YOU WILL COME TO NEW ZEALAND< REPEAT AFTER ME***I WILL COME TO NEW ZEALAND****GO ON>>>>>PRETTY PLEASE : )


June 30, 2013 at 10:42 pm
Kristinko says:

Dear Derren,
My girlfirend surprised me with your show and I had only 15 minutes “to prepare myself”.
From that moment on I’ve seen the theatre with you on the front … really became nervous because of your former mindblowing performances which I was only able to seen on Austrian TV. I am not really frightened but had an “unsecure feeling” of what will happen during the show. From the very first moment of your show I was totally fascinated and really more than surprised about the fact that a live performance can be as amazing as something filmed and edited before … It was a real pleasure to see the master of intelligent illusion live and thanks for your kind words while leaving the theatre!
You’re a real gentleman on and off stage … my full respect for you!
Please proceed with more work and give your audience more insight into your/our mind! Hope to see you one day for a show in Vienna :-)
CK


July 1, 2013 at 12:22 am
Dawn Shuttleworth says:

Such fantastic reviews and well deserved praise Derren from the critics who can either make you or break you. It was my birthday on Thursday so am really glad and happy that good, positive things happened to you on that day! You, your whole team and all those closest to you must be so proud of the huge amount of effort and hard work that you all put in to each and every show, every night to amaze and astound us! I have been lucky enough to see you twice on this tour and each time have just been blown away by the sheer brilliance of the show! Enjoy everything in the way of awards that come your way, they truly are deserving. Best wishes, Dawn x


July 1, 2013 at 12:22 am
Dawn Shuttleworth says:

Such fantastic reviews and well deserved praise Derren from the critics who can either make you or break you. It was my birthday on Thursday so am really glad and happy that good, positive things happened to you on that day! You, your whole team and all those closest to you must be so proud of the huge amount of effort and hard work that you all put in to each and every show, every night to amaze and astound us! I have been lucky enough to see you twice on this tour and each time have just been blown away by the sheer brilliance of the show! Enjoy everything in the way of awards that come your way, they truly are deserving. Best wishes, Dawn x


July 1, 2013 at 11:19 am
Melanie Ontong says:

Sounds like one helluvah cool show. Hope to see it on tv. Or, I hope it comes out on DVD some day. that would be geat.


July 1, 2013 at 11:49 pm
Jess says:

I saw Infamous in May and could not resist seeing the show again in London. Absolutely life changing show, everything about it is so well crafted and thought out. The planning must be so intense and I have the greatest respect for Derren and Andy.
Go see this show if you can!

Thanks for a brilliant show Derren, can’t wait to see it again.


July 2, 2013 at 10:26 pm
Claire S. says:

Derren, went to see your show last night and I must admit, the reviews are brilliant but they don’t entirely capture how mesmerizing an experience it is to see you in action. Your mastery in NLP, mnemonics and cognitive neuroscience is simply out of this world!! Intertwining them with brilliant showmanship and great humour is… well, pure genius for a lack of a better term. My hat off to you Mr Brown, the show is astonishing!! Gutted I didn’t get the chance to thank you after the show for blowing my little socks off – and my mind with it!!! Hope your voice’s back on track.


July 3, 2013 at 5:27 pm
Steve C says:

Quite simply a must see show. Never ever seen anything like it and doubt I will ever see anything like it again. My wife was called up on stage and she was a total sceptic when it came to this kind of thing. She’s not a sceptic anymore!! Absolute genius! Derren and Andy you deserve all the praise you’ve got for this first class show!


STORE

New and exclusive items



FEATURED Infamous Brochure

Infamous Brochure
FIND OUT MORE
FIND OUT MORE
RECENT
COMMENTS
Grace
I came to see the Infamous tour in Southampton (April 11). Derren is my biggest hero, and I found myself incredibly lucky enough to be up on stage with him. Derren was as genuine and charming as I'd always hoped (which proved a contrast to my nervous and shaky demeanour). He is a brilliant showman and an all-round pleasure to watch. The show was sensationally mind-blowing - I'll be sure that I never miss another. Thank you Derren, for everything that you do. Sorry I was so shaky! Grace
Kay le poidevin
Really looking forward to tonight in Southaampton, bought tickets for husband, Terry's birthday. It's not today, it was in February.)
Sandra B. Myers
Derren Brown, For my daughter's birthday gift in November of 2013, I gave her a ticket to your show. For Christmas, I gave her a round trip ticket to London from Pensacola, Florida, our home. On my birthday, I flew from the Middle East, where I'm teaching English, to join her. On the 25th of March, you gave us your best. It was the highlight of our First English Spring Tour. No matter how far apart we are in the world or mindset, we both agree...we have no idea how you do it! And we like it that way.
Hannah A
I saw Derren at Leeds on 25th and I am still - 4 days on - utterly blown away by his incredible talent and incredible show! I have never ever had the pleasure of seeing him live before, but I will never miss an opportunity again. Someone as talented as Derren Brown is a MUST SEE. He's mesmerising, spellbinding, inspiring, jaw droppingly amazing. This experience is something I will take away with me forever and a day! Thank you SO much for bringing this show to Leeds! But goin forward, if travel roun te country to see you - you are THAT good :)